top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichael J. Herman

It’s Not The Smile, It’s The Mile


It’s Not The Smile, It’s The Mile

©2018 Michael J. Herman All Rights Reserved

Life goes by and hardly a moment to stop and say hi. I breathe, I spit. I stand I sit

and not a chance to really ever give a shit.

Complications and obligations rush all around

drowning out the sound

of the life that's abound.

And still I wonder where the time goes?

What I did and what I chose?

Where I went in such a rush?

Doesn't seem like it added up to all that much.

And then I see your eyes

and I touch your hand

We create a new moment

That helps to understand.

It's now that matters, not back then.

It's the fact we're together

Now, not when.

It's your breath on my cheek

And the timber of your speak.

Or the way you smile as I guile at the length of our mile.

I say now thank you for the gift of you.

Our lives shared are what’s true.

And when I think of others like you

Believe me when I say

They are few.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Right Between the eyes

It was an ordinary day. Wake up, get ready, and go to work. Work hard all day and fall off a ladder. WHAT? That's right! California Resident and construction worker, Ron Hunt, while working on a job s

Don't Even Think About It

Don't Even Think About It Count me out? Doubt me? Discredit me? Minimize me or my achievements? #Myabilities?? #Mydreams? #Myattitudes? #Myintentions? #Mycommitment? #Myplans? Should I go on? Really?

Start NOW! #Startnow

Your life starts now -- if you let it. Most people, at least way too many people wait. The right time The right day The right this and the right that. The right conditions The right lighting The right

bottom of page